Rotator cuff

The rotator cuff is a group of muscles and their tendons that act to stabilize the human shoulder and allow for its extensive range of motion.

Of the seven scapulohumeral muscles, four make up the rotator cuff. 

The four muscles are:

supraspinatus muscle

infraspinatus muscle

teres minor muscle

subscapularis muscle.

Refers to tendinopathy of one or more of the four muscles that form the rotator cuff.

Refers to full or partial thickness tears of the rotator cuff tendons, or bursitis of the subacromial bursa.

Subacromial bursitis, tendinopathy, or both lead to subacromial impingement syndrome.

The teres minor muscle initiates external rotation and some adduction

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *